Ag producers eligible for emergency loans

Agricultural producers in Mesa County and five other Western Colorado counties who’ve suffered losses and damages because of drought conditions are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated Garfield County as a primary natural disaster area because of drought.

But producers in contiguous counties also are eligible for emergency assistance, including those in Eagle, Mesa, Pitkin,  Rio Blanco and Routt counties in Colorado and Grand and Uintah counties in Utah.

Produces have until Feb. 15 to apply for emergency loans to cover part of their actual losses.

The Farm Service Agency will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. Other FSA programs that provide assistance, but don’t require a disaster declaration.

Ag producers should contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Information also is also available online from the website located at

The Business Times has served as the definitive source for Grand Junction business news since 1994. The journal offers news, views and advice you can use twice each month in print with daily updates online at
  • Connect With The Business Times Staff:
  • Facebook
Read More Articles by

Short URL:

Posted by on Jul 10 2018. Filed under Business Briefs. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Post Your Thoughts Below

Comments are closed


Past Articles

The Business Times Newspaper . 609 North Avenue Suite #2 . Grand Junction, CO 81501 . 970-424-5133
Log in