Club 20 awards honor service to group and region

Club 20 presented nine awards recognizing recipients for their service to the organization and Western Colorado.

Club 20 presented the awards as part of an annual banquet held in conjunction with its spring conference in Grand Junction.

“These award recipients are as diverse as the Club 20 general membership. Their areas of service are reflective of their interests, professional expertise and personal dedication to ensuring Club 20 remains strong as the voice of the Western Slope,” said Christian Reece, executive director of Club 20.

The 65-year-old coalition advocates for the region on behalf of its member cities, counties and towns as well as businesses and individuals.

The awards and their respective recipients are:

John D. Vanderhoof Award: presented to J. Paul Brown of Igancio, a former state representative, and Ron Velarde of Grand Junction, a former regional manager of Colorado Parks and Wildlife, for their service to Western Colorado.

Preston Walker Award: presented to Steve Reynolds of Glenwood Springs for his service to Club 20.

Lyman Thomas Award: presented to Jasper Welch of Durango in recognition of his service as a long-time member of Club 20.

Dan Noble Award: presented to State Sen. Don Coram of Montrose for his service to Western Colorado as an elected official

Johnson-Theos Bridge Builder Award: presented to Terri Binder of Arvada; Kathy Welt of Hotchkiss; Irv Halter, executive director of the Colorado Department of Local Affairs; and Colorado Lt. Gov. Donna Lynne in recognition of their commitment to collaborative problem-solving efforts.

New Member of the Year Award: presented to Michael Murphy of Lake City to honor his involvement during his first year of membership.

Chairman’s Award: presented to Tom Glass of Denver, for his commitment and dedication to CLUB 20 and Colorado.

Executive Director’s Award: presented to Karl Paulson of Oak Creek for continued support of and service to the Club 20 staff and organization and commitment to Western Colorado.

Emeritus Member Award: presented to Marcia Neal of Grand Junction and Rikki Santarelli of Almont for continued service to the CLUB 20 region and Colorado.