CMU program aids community college transfer students

Tim Foster, President, CMU
Tim Foster, President, CMU

Students attending any of 13 community colleges in Colorado now have the option of enrolling in a new program and completing a four-year degree at Colorado Mesa University in Grand Junction.

“We really value our partnership with the Colorado Community Colleges System, and we think this agreement will go a long way towards helping students achieve their goals,” said CMU President Tim Foster. “Working together, advisors from both institutions will now have more tools at their disposal to help students save money and earn their baccalaureate degree in a timely fashion.”

Under the agreement between Colorado Mesa University and the Colorado Community College System, first-time freshmen applying for admission to any of the 13 institutions in the system also may enroll in a program called the Colorado Mesa University Admissions Promise while attending community college.

Students in the program will automatically be admitted to CMU without having to submit high school records or college entrance examination scores. Moreover, their application fees will be waived. After earning an associate’s degree, a student will begin as a junior at CMU without having to retake any of the prescribed freshman or sophomore coursework.

Nancy McCallin, president of the Colorado Community Colleges System, said the program removes barriers to educational attainment while bolstering work force development in the state. “This partnership provides a clear pathway from high school to an associate’s degree to a baccalaureate degree in an affordable and seamless manner. This program will increase college degree attainment and student success to ensure the competitiveness of Colorado’s work force in today’s global economy.”

The Colorado Community College System includes Arapahoe Community College, Colorado Northwestern Community College, Community College of Aurora, Community College of Denver, Front Range Community College, Lamar Community College, Morgan Community College, Northeastern Junior College, Otero Junior College, Pikes Peak Community College, Pueblo Community College, Red Rocks Community College and Trinidad State Junior College. The 13 community colleges serve a total of more than 144,000 students annually.