Grand Junction voters lift marijuana moratorium, elect four to council

Abe Herman
Rick Taggart
Randall Reitz
Dennis Simpson

Grand Junction voters have lifted a moratorium on marijuana businesses as well as elected four men to the city council.

A ballot question lifting on the moratorium on marijuana businesses within city limits as well as a related tax question were approved in the municipal election.

According to the final unofficial statement of election returns posted on the city website, the first question won with 9,755 yes votes to 7,055 no votes. The second question was approved on a 9,235-7,309 vote.

The city announced the staff will work with appointed and elected officials to develop the next steps in licensing and permitting marijuana-related businesses. Local regulations on retail licensing are expected in the fall.

Taxes on retail marijuana sales will be earmarked to implement and enforce marijuana regulations as well as fund the highest priorities in a parks, recreation and open space master plan. The plan lays out $157 million in projects and priorities for the next eight to 10 years.

In the race for four seats on the Grand Junction City Council:

Rick Taggart beat Mark McCallister in District A by a 9,259-6,357 vote.

Dennis Simpson beat Greg Haitz in District D by a 8,213-6,961 vote.

Abe Herman defeated Jody Green in District E by a 9,374-6,109 vote.

Randall Reitz beat Kraig Andrews for an at-large seat by a 9,122-6,167 vote.