Health care professionals nominated for awards

Six Western Colorado health care professionals have been selected as regional nominees for statewide awards honoring their contributions.

The six received Nightingale Luminary awards at an annual banquet in Grand Junction. They will represent Western Colorado at a state event set for May 10 in Denver. The Nightingale awards program honors nurses and other health care professionals whose work epitomizes the passion of Florence Nightingale.

The six are: Susan Clark, assistant director of nurses at the E. Dene Moore Care Center; Cynthia Ellison, a registered nurse at St. Mary’s Hospital & Regional Medical Center; Heather Gilmartin, a public health nurse with Eagle County Public Health; Lynda McFarland, education coordinator with Grand River Health; Terri Walter, chief administrative office of HopeWest; and Misty Young, clinical manager of the neuro trauma and stroke unit at St. Mary’s Hospital.

An additional 19 health care professionals were honored at the Grand Junction banquet as Luminary Award nominees. They were: Jessica Bates, Amy Campagna, Wendy Deister, Amanda Gauthier, Mary Jo George, Tammy Head, Laura “Katie” Hebert, Mary Hinz, Tami Honnen, Meredith Jones, Amy Lavigne, Alicia Moodie, Stephany Seuell, Lorraine Sharp, Susan Shepherd, Kelly Thompson, Gina Underwood, Klover Wells and Veronica Zarlingo.