Mesa County among primary counties in ag disaster declaration

Mesa County is among 28 Colorado counties that have been declared natural disaster areas in the aftermath of a drought spanning nearly two years.

“While drought conditions are clearly improving, farmers across Colorado are still recovering from losses incurred since late 2017,” said Kate Greenberg, Colorado Commissioner of Agriculture. “We encourage our state’s ag producers to check their eligibility for receiving FSA emergency loans and other assistance.”

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue declared 28 Colorado counties as primary natural disaster areas. Another 11 counties were included in contiguous areas.

A secretarial disaster declaration qualifies agricultural operators in primary and contiguous counties for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), including emergency loans.

Farmers in designated counties have eight months from the May 30 disaster declaration to apply for loans.

In addition to Mesa County, neighboring Delta, Garfield, Montrose and Rio Blanco counties were among the primary counties included in the natural disaster areas.

Other Western Slope counties also were included in the natural disaster areas, among them Alamosa, Archuleta, Conejos, Costilla, Dolores,  Eagle, Grand, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Jackson, La Plata, Mineral, Moffat, Montezuma, Ouray, Pitkin, Rio Grande, Routt, Saguache, San Juan, San Miguel and Summit counties.

The contiguous area includes Boulder, Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Gilpin, Huerfano, Jefferson, Lake, Larimer, Las Animas and Park counties.

In Grand Junction, the Farm Services Agency is located at 2738 Crossroads Blvd. For additional information about emergency loans and other assistance from the FSA, visit the internet website located at