New president begins term with Colorado Cattlemen’s Association

Steve Wooten
Janie VanWinkle

Steve Wooten, a rancher from Southeast Colorado, has started his term as president of the Colorado Cattlemen’s Association.

Wooten succeeds Janie VanWinkle, a rancher from Fruita who was only the third woman over the course of 150 years to serve in the position.

“It was an honor to serve as the president of this association and all the great men, women and families that represent our industry,” VanWinkle said. “The membership stepped up to the challenge of engaging outside our industry and connecting with new audiences. I am proud of how our association has advanced the legacy of our industry. And I hope as we face new challenges, each and every member continues this mission for generations to come.”

The CCA represents ranchers and others working in the beef industry across the state and advocates on their behalf.

Wooten and his wife, daughter and son-in-law operate Beatty Canyon Ranch in Las Animas County near Kim.

Wooten has served on the CCA board of directors for more than 10 years, including a term as president in 2019 and 2020. He serves on other boards and committees on local, state and national levels. Wooten and his family were selected as the regional winner of an environmental stewardship award presented by the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association.

Wooten said he’s looking forward to new opportunities to promote engagement and collaboration in the cattle industry to address such issues as consumer awareness and climate change. He said he’s learned to address challenges with not only an open mind, but also loyalty for his fellow producers.

“In the coming year I am looking forward to serving the members of the Colorado Cattlemen’s Association as their president and working on issues of importance as we promote and protect the longevity of the beef industry in Colorado,” he said.

The board of directors also includes Philip Anderson of Walden, president-elect; Robert Farnam of Brush, first vice president; Tom Harrington of Carbondale, second vice president; and Brett Datteri of Greeley, treasurer.