West Slope rancher takes over as president of Colorado Cattlemen’s Association

Tom Harrington

A Carbondale rancher has stepped into his new role as president of the Colorado Cattlemen’s Association (CCA).

Tom Harrington began his one-year term at the CCA annual convention in Colorado Springs.

Harrington has served on the CCA board of directors since 2015 and also has been involved in local, state and national cattlemen’s associations.

Harrington said he looks forward to engaging with producers, industry stakeholders and consumers to persuade political and social change to benefit the beef industry and agriculture. “As we look to the year ahead, I am looking forward to serving the members of the Colorado Cattlemen’s Association as their president. It will take the collective voices and efforts of our industry to affect positive change, but I am confident that our membership and association is prepared to work on issues of importance on behalf of all of Colorado’s beef producers and the broader industry.”

Harrington and his wife, Ginny, live in Carbondale, where they manage the Crystal River Ranch, a cow and calf operation and their own commercial operation. Harrington is a graduate of Colorado State University, where he received a bachelor’s degree in animal science and master’s degree in animal reproduction and management systems.

Harrington succeeds Robert Farnam, a rancher from Brush who’s now outgoing CCA president.

“It has been an honor to serve as the president of this association and all the great men, women and families that represent our industry.” Farnam said. “From my statewide travels, I have seen firsthand our association and its members’ commitments to bettering our industry. We are an industry and organization that pays it forward, and this is one of the reasons why we have stayed strong for 157 years.”

The 2024 CCA board of directors also includes: Curt Russell, Sugar City, president elect; Mark LeValley, Hotchkiss, first vice president; Jim Magnuson, Eaton, second vice president; John Michal, Sterling, treasurer; Billy Schmitz, Johnstown, and Jim Santomaso, Sterling, northeast quarter representatives; Mike Camblin, Maybell, and John Raftopoulos, Craig; northwest quarter representatives;  Sean Martin, Collbran, and Pete Stagner, Moffat, southwest quarter representatives: and R.J. Jolly, Kit Carson, and Nate Turner, Yoder, southeast quarter representatives.